Skip to main content
"The Art and Soul of the American Labor Movement"

Join LHF Now! Support LHF

HomeSolidarity Forever Award

Congratulations to our 2024 award-winners Fredrick D. Redmond and Elise Bryant!

Fred is the secretary-treasurer of the AFL-CIO. At the AFL-CIO Convention in June 2022, he was unanimously elected to the position as the highest ranking African American officer in the history of America’s labor movement. For decades, Redmond served the United Steelworkers (USW) in various staff and leadership roles, assisting local unions, developing and conducting training programs, and bargaining contracts. 
He spent his entire life fighting for racial justice in the workplace and throughout our communities, including serving as chair of the AFL-CIO Task Force on Racial Justice, a body focused on taking concrete action to address America’s long history of racism and police violence against Black people.

Elise is currently the President of the
Coalition of Labor Union Women (CLUW) and former Executive Director of the Labor Heritage Foundation. An accomplished playwright and social justice activist, Bryant got her start in the labor movement as a member of the Industrial Workers of the World (“Wobblies”). She graduated from American University with a master’s of science degree in organizational development. She is also a labor educator and has taught at the University of Michigan Labor Studies Center and the National Labor College. Elise has received several awards, including the AmNews’ Labor Award on behalf of CLUW’s national officers of  color and the Lifetime Achievement award from United Association of Labor Educators. 

Thanks to our 2024 Solidarity Forever Sponsors!
Benefactor (Mother Jones): ULLICO * UNITE HERE
Patron (John Handcox): AFSCME * Bricklayers & Allied Craftworkers * IFPTE * LIUNA * NNU * SEIU * UFCW 
Supporter (Pete Seeger): Amalgamated Transit Union * George Meany Memorial Archive * IAFF * Iron Workers * UMWA * USW
Director’s Circle: AFT * Elevator Constructors * IATSE 22 * Kalmanovitz Initiative * Painters & Allied Trades * The Segal Co.

Add your name to the list! 
Pledge Here

Former Solidarity Forever Awardees: Past Solidarity Award Winners

Support LHF's continuing programs here: Donations

Menu Links

Programs Calendar News Shop

Other Links

About Archive