The Joe Hill Award

The Joe Hill Award honors leaders and artists who have contributed to the successful integration of arts and culture in the labor movement. Every year at the Great Labor Arts Exchange, the Labor Heritage Foundation gives the award to individuals based on their dedication, participation, and promotion of labor, labor arts, culture, organizing, and/or history.

The Labor Heritage Foundation has presented this annual lifetime achievement award for work in the field of labor culture since 1989.

2019 Kathleen Farrell & Si Kahn
2018John McCutcheon & Lynn Marie Smith
2017Bev Grant & Janet Stecher
2016Luci Murphy & Jimmy Kelly
2015Fruit of Labor Singing Ensemble
2014 Pat Wynne & Charlie King
2013 Barbara Bailey & Shelley Kessler
2012Saul Schniderman & Pablo Davis
2011Jon Fromer & Bobbie Rabinowitz
2010Jerry Gray
2009Ricardo Levins Morales
2008 Peter Jones
2007Julius Margolin
2006 Joe Uehlein
2005Anne Feeney
2004Utah Phillips
2003Hazel Dickens
2002Faith Petric
2001Baldemar Velasquez
2000Rev. James Orange
1999 Guy and Candie Carawan
1998Archie Green
1997Joe Glazer
1996Anne Romaine
1995Pete Seeger
1994Moe Foner
1993 Cesar Chavez
1992 Joyce Kornbluh
1991Ralph Fasanella
1990 Emmanuel Fried
1989John Handcox