A May Day Cabaret- Philadelphia PA

InterAct Theatre Company's Labor of Love Fundraiser - Friday, May 1, 2009

You’re Invited…


InterAct Theatre Company

On Friday, May 1, 2009, InterAct Theatre Company will host its annual fundraiser as a celebration of the Art and Labor communities. The event will include a cocktail reception, cabaret performance, presentation of InterAct’s Kaki Marshall Arts & Community Award and end with a dessert reception. The event will held at the PACE Local 2-286 Union Hall.

Join us for this extraordinary one-night-only event.


Since 1999, InterAct has presented the Kaki Marshall Arts & Community Award to individuals who have made a significant contribution to the Philadelphia region through their activism in the arts community.

This year InterAct is pleased to honor two individuals who symbolize the powerful connections between the labor movement and the arts community. Terry Graboyes is the president of Graboyes Commercial Window Company, a longtime arts supporter and advocate, and a leading union-recognized contractor here in Philadelphia. Tom McCarthy is one of Philadelphia’s busiest and most respected actors, an active member of Actors’ Equity Association, American Federation of Television and Radio Artists, and longtime local head of the Screen Actors Guild.


Friday, May 1, 2009

5:30 p.m.
Cocktail Reception
Extensive Hors d’oeuvres & Open Bar

7:00 p.m
A May Day Cabaret
Labor Songs & Excerpts from WORKING: THE MUSICAL

Kaki Marshall Arts & Community Award Presentation

8:00 p.m.

PACE Local 2-286 Union Hall
410 N. 8th Street

Between Callowhill & Spring Garden Streets

Free On-Site Parking


– One Admission

– V.I.P. Seating

– Name Recognition In Program

(Deadline for program recognition is April 20, 2009)

– One Admission

– One Admission

R.S.V.P. by Friday, April 20, 2009

By Phone:


By Mail or In Person:

(Please make checks payable to InterAct Theatre Company)

InterAct Theatre Company, 2030 Sansom St., Philadelphia, PA, 19103

Securely On The Web:

Tickets on Sale Now


Presenting Sponsor:

IUPAT International

Corporate Sponsors:

Lorél Marketing Group

Eckert Seamans Cherin & Mellott, LLC

Saul Ewing LLP


Honorary Chairs

Hon. Edward G. Rendell

Governor, Commonwealth of Pennsylvania

Hon. Michael A. Nutter

Mayor, City of Philadelphia

Hon. Arlen Specter

United States Senate

Hon. Robert P. Casey, Jr.

United States Senate

Hon. Harris Wofford

United States Senate (former)

Hon. Allyson Y. Schwartz

United States House of Representatives

Hon. Robert A. Brady

United States House of Representatives

Hon. LeAnna M. Washington
Pennsylvania Senate

Hon. Larry Farnese

Pennsylvania Senate

Hon. Dwight Evans

Pennsylvania House of Representatives

Hon. Babette Josephs

Pennsylvania House of Representatives

Hon. Louise Williams Bishop

Pennsylvania House of Representatives

Hon. Tony J. Payton, Jr.

Pennsylvania House of Representatives

Hon. Cherelle L. Parker

Pennsylvania House of Representatives

Hon. Marian B. Tasco

Majority Leader, Philadelphia City Council

Hon. Blondell Reynolds Brown

Philadelphia City Council

Hon. Jannie L. Blackwell

Philadelphia City Council

Hon. Bill Green

Philadelphia City Council

Hon. Maria Quinones-Sanchez

Philadelphia City Council

Hon. Curtis Jones, Jr.

Philadelphia City Council

Steven A. Glassman

Chairman, Pennsylvania Human Relations Commission

Kernie Anderson

WURD Radio / Levas Communications

Joseph Ashdale

IUPAT District Council 21

Brad Baldia

National Association of Asian American Professionals

Ramona Riscoe Benson

African American Museum in Philadelphia

Della Clarke

The Enterprise Center

E. Steven Collins

Radio One

Eleanor Dezzi

The Dezzi Group

Patrick Eiding


David Fair

United Way of Southeastern Pennsylvania

Patrick Gillespie

Philadelphia Building Trades Council

Sharmaine Matlock-Turner

Greater Philadelphia Urban Affairs Coalition

Carlo Simone, Jr.

PACE Local 2-286

James A. Williams

General President, IUPAT

Event Committee

Michael Norris, Co-Chair

Heather Lutzker, Co-Chair

Brian Abernathy
Alan Blumenthal
Host Committee
Ennis Carter
Brian Abernathy
Roxanne E. Covington

Nathan & Dolly Beechman Schnall

Cari Feiler Bender
Sandy & Mark Bernstein
Duane C. Ingram
Pearl Carpel
Katayun I. Jaffari
Ennis Carter
Karen Kruza
Robert Curley
Elizabeth McElroy
Cari Feiler Bender
Steve Promislo
Steve & Jane Heumann
Sean Sansiveri

Duane C. Ingram & Richard Russey

Roberta Jacobs-Meadway
InterAct Board of Directors
Katayun I. Jaffari
Roberta Jacobs-Meadway, Chair
Harvey & Virginia Kimmel

Michael Norris, Vice Chair

Karen Kruza & Richard Quinn

Rod P. Burkert, Treasurer

Melissa Kurtzman

Steve Promislo, Secretary

Joseph & Catherine “Kaki” Marshall
Alan Blumenthal
Ellen Mulroney
Michael J. Burton
Michael L. Norris & Matt Varrato
Roxanne Covington
Steve Promislo
Judi Golding-Baker
Carl Rudnick
Duane C. Ingram
Margery Klain
Melissa Kurtzman
Seth Rozin
Carl Rudnick